DIE MITGLIEDER DER JURY

RABBI DR. DAVID ELLENSON ist Direktor des Schusterman Center for Israel Studies an der Brandeis University. Seine zahlreichen Publikationen decken ein breites Themenspektrum ab, von den Ursprüngen und der Entwicklung des orthodoxen Judentums in Deutschland im 19. Jahrhundert über orthodoxe Rechtsschriften zur Konversion in Israel, Nordamerika und Europa in der Moderne, die Beziehung zwischen Religion und Staat in Israel bis hin zur Geschichte der modernen jüdischen Religionsbewegungen und jüdischem Leben in Amerika. Ellenson ist emeritierter Kanzler des Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion (HUC-JIR); von 2001 bis 2013 war er Präsident am HUC-JIR. Zwei Jahrzehnte lang leitete Ellenson die Louchheim School of Judaic Studies, das Undergraduate-Programm für Judaistik an der University of Southern California unter dem Dach des HUC-JIR. Im Frühjahr 2015 wurde er von der New York University zum Distinguished Visiting Professor (Ehren-Gastprofessor) am Skirball Department of Judaic Studies berufen. An der Brandeis University ist er neben seiner Position am Schusterman Center for Israel Studies als Gastprofessor im Department of Near Eastern and Judaic Studies tätig.

KAREN FRANKLIN ist Direktorin der Abteilung Familienforschung am Leo Baeck Institut in New York. Zuvor leitete sie 20 Jahre lang das Judaica Museum in Riverdale, New York, und war unter anderem Gastkuratorin am Museum of Jewish Heritage - A Living Memorial to the Holocaust. Frau Franklin war Vorsitzende des Council of American Jewish Museums (Rat der amerikanisch-jüdischen Museen), Präsidentin der International Association of Jewish Genealogical Societies (Internationale Vereinigung jüdisch-genealogischer Gesellschaften) sowie Co-Vorsitzende des Direktoriums von JewishGen, einer Organisation, die die gleichnamige Website zur jüdischen Genealogie betreibt. Darüber hinaus war sie als Vorsitzende des Internationalen Museumsrats (ICOM) tätig. 2012 verlieh ihr das US-amerikanische Komitee des Internationalen Museumsrats (ICOM-US) in Anerkennung ihres Engagements für die Restitution jüdischen Eigentums aus der Zeit des Holocaust seine höchste Auszeichnung: die ICOM-US Service Citation.

DR. HANNO LOEWY ist Direktor des Jüdischen Museums Hohenems in Österreich. Er war Gründungsdirektor des Fritz Bauer Instituts und Gastkurator beim Aufbau der Dauerausstellungen der Jüdischen Museen in Frankfurt am Main und Berlin. Dr. Loewy ist Präsident der Association of European Jewish Museums (Dachverband der jüdischen Museen in Europa). Seine zahlreichen Publikationen befassen sich mit einem breiten Themenspektrum, von geschichtlichen Werken zu Fotografie, Film und moderner Ästhetik über jüdische Geschichte und Kultur sowie jüdische Gegenwartspolitik bis hin zum Einfluss des Holocaust auf Literatur und Film. Seine jüngsten Werke sind „Jukebox. Jewkbox! A Jewish Century on Shellac and Vinyl“ (2014) und „Endstation Sehnsucht. Eine Reise durch Jerushaljim-Jerusalem-Al Quds“ (mit Hannes Sulzenbacher, 2015).

FRANK MECKLENBURG ist der Hauptarchivar und Forschungsdirektor des Leo Baeck Instituts (LBI) New York, wo er seit 1984 tätig ist. Er steht der Zweigstelle des LBI Archivs im Jüdischen Museum Berlin vor und ist verantwortlich fuer DigiBaeck, das Digitalarchivprojekt des LBI. Er ist ein regelmässiger Teilnehmer an Konferenzen zu Jewish Studies und German Studies und arbeitet gegenwärtig an einer Reihe von Aufsätzen zur Geschichte der Juden in Mitteleuropa im 20. Jahrhundert aus einer post-Kalter Krieg und post-Ost-West Sicht. In Berlin geboren wanderte er 1981 in die USA aus und erhielt im gleichen Jahr den Dr.phil. von der Technischen Universität Berlin im Fach neuere deutsche Geschichte.

DR. SARA NACHAMA war ab Oktober 2003 Gründungsdirektorin der Berliner Zweigstelle des Touro College and University Systems (New York), der einzigen jüdisch-amerikanischen Hochschule in Deutschland, die Bachelor- und Master-Studienprogramme anbietet. Seit 2005 ist sie auch Vizepräsidentin und Rektorin des Touro College. Sie ist Mitglied im Vorstand der Jüdischen Gemeinde zu Berlin, zuständig für Kultur und die Jüdische Volkshochschule. Darüber hinaus ist sie im Vorstand der Gesellschaft für Christlich-Jüdische Zusammenarbeit e.V. sowie im Kuratorium des Jüdischen Krankenhauses in Berlin tätig. Im Jahr 2014 wurde ihr für ihr ehrenamtliches Engagement das Bundesverdienstkreuz am Bande verliehen.

HENRY OBERMAYER ist ein Sohn des Begründers der Obermayer German Jewish History Awards. Er ist in der Region San Francisco als Psychologe und Wissenschaftler tätig und engagiert sich als „Community Builder“ für Gemeinschaftsprojekte in seinem Umfeld. Herr Obermayer war 1988 als Dozent im Rahmen des Intensive English Program an der Universität Rostock tätig und hat Deutschland seither immer wieder aus beruflichem oder persönlichem Anlass besucht.

RALF WIELAND ist seit dem 27. Oktober 2011 Präsident des Abgeordnetenhauses von Berlin. Er wurde 1956 in Wilhelmshaven geboren und absolvierte eine Lehre als Speditionskaufmann. Nach seiner Berufsausbildung war er als Disponent und Leiter einer Speditionsniederlassung tätig. Danach arbeitete er als Leitungsreferent in der Senatsverwaltung für Bau- und Wohnungswesen und leitete von 1996 bis 1997 die Bauabfallordnungsbehörde des Landes Berlin. 1997 wechselte er in die Senatsverwaltung für Stadtentwicklung, Umweltschutz und Technologie und war hier bis 1999 als Sachgebietsleiter tätig. Von 1999 – 2004 war er Landesgeschäftsführer der Berliner SPD. Dem Berliner Parlament gehört Ralf Wieland seit 1999 an. Viele Jahre war er Vorsitzender des Hauptausschusses, der einer der wichtigsten Parlamentsausschüsse und für die Beratungen des Berliner Haushaltsgesetzes und die Kontrolle des Haushaltsvollzugs durch die Berliner Regierung zuständig ist.

JURY
(English - Deutsch)

DAVID ELLENSON, is Director of the Schusterman Center for Israel Studies at Brandeis University. He has written extensively on the origins and development of Orthodox Judaism in Germany during the Nineteenth Century, Orthodox legal writings on conversion in Israel, North America, and Europe during the modern era, the relationship between religion and state in Israel, the history of modern Jewish religious movements, and American Jewish life. Chancellor-Emeritus of Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion, he served as Presi-dent of HUC-JIR from 2001-2013. For two decades El-lenson served as head of the Louchheim School of Judaic Studies, the undergraduate program in Jewish Studies at the University of Southern California conducted under the aegis of HUC-JIR. In the Spring of 2015, New York University appointed him as Distinguished Visiting Professor in the Skirball Department of Judaic Studies. At Brandeis, in addition to his position at the Schusterman Center for Israel Studies, he serves as a Visiting Professor in the Department of Near Eastern and Judaic Studies.any.

KAREN FRANKLIN is director of family research at the Leo Baeck Institute, former Director of the Judaica Museum in Riverdale, New York for 20 years; she was also a guest curator at the Museum of Jewish Heritage - A Living Memorial to the Holocaust. Mrs. Franklin is a past chair of the Memorial Museums Committee of ICOM (the International Council of Museums). She has served as chair of the Council of American Jewish Museums and president of the International Association of Jewish Genealogi-cal Societies, as well as co-chair of the Board of Governors of JewishGen, the Jewish genealogy web site. Currently she is on the Advisory Board of the European Shoah Legacy Institute, and was awarded the 2012 ICOM-US Service Citation for her work in Holocaust-era property restitution. The citation is the highest honor of ICOM-US.

DR. HANNO LOEWY is the Director of the Jewish Museum Hohenems in Austria. The founding director of the Fritz Bauer Institute, he was guest curator for the permanent exhibitions of the Jewish Museum Frankfurt am Main and Berlin. Dr. Loewy is president of the Association of European Jewish Museums. His many publications cover subjects including the history of photography, film and modern aesthetics, Jewish history and culture and contemporary Jewish politics, and the impact of the Holocaust on literature and film, most recent: Jukebox. Jewkbox! A Jewish Century on Shellac and Vinyl (2014) and Endstation Sehnsucht. Eine Reise durch Jerushaljim-Jerusalem-Al Quds (together with Hannes Sulzenbacher, 2015).

FRANK MECKLENBURG is Chief Archivist and Director of Research at the Leo Baeck Institute (LBI) New York, where he has worked since 1984.  He heads the LBI Archives branch at the Jewish Museum in Berlin and is in charge of DigiBaeck, the digital archives project at LBI.  He has been an active participant in the annual conference of Jewish Studies and German Studies and is working on a series of articles concerning the history of Jews in Central Europe during the 20th century from a post-cold war, post-East-West perspective. Born in Berlin he immigrated to the U.S. in 1981, the same year he received his PhD from the Technische Universität Berlin in modern German history.

SARA NACHAMA became the executive founding director of the Berlin branch of Touro College (NY) in October 2003. It is the only Jewish American College in Germany. Since 2005 she is a vice president and rector of Touro College Berlin. She is on the Board of „Willkommen in Berlin” – the club of diplomats in the Foreign Ministry of Germany, and on the board of Jewish Community in Berlin, where she is responsible for Culture and Adult Education Centre. She is a board member of Berlin’s Christian-Jewish Association. She also serves on the Board of Trustees of the Jewish Hospital in Berlin. In 2014 she was awarded a “Federal Cross of Merit” for her voluntary community services.

HENRY OBERMAYER is a son of Dr. Arthur Obermayer, founder of the Obermayer German Jewish History Awards.  He is a psychologist, academic, and community builder in the San Francisco area.  A faculty member in the Intensive English Program at the University of Rostock in 1988, Mr. Obermayer has returned many times to Germany since then for both professional and personal reasons.

RALF WIELAND has been Speaker of the Berlin House of Representatives since October 27, 2011. He was born in Wilhelmshaven in 1956 and did an apprenticeship as a shipping agent. After his vocational training, he worked as an expediter and as the branch manager of a shipping company. After working as an assistant to the executive staff of Berlin’s Senate Department for Construction and Housing, he headed Berlin’s agency for construction waste management from 1996 to 1997. In 1997 he moved to the Senate Department for Urban Development, the Environment and Technology and was a division head there until 1999. From 1999 to 2004 he was the party manager for the Social Democratic Party (SPD) in Berlin. Ralf Wieland has been a member of the Berlin House of Representatives since 1999, where he headed the Budget Committee for many years. Responsible for the deliberations on Berlin’s annual Budget Act and for monitoring the government’s implementation of the Budget Act, it is one of the legislature’s most important committees.